The Centre for Housing and Support
Tel: 01905 727272


What are the standards?

What are the standards?

Five Core Standards

All organisations must have their service assessed against the following five core standards covering 23 service outcomes:

Management and governance

Ensuring you manage the service in the best way possible.

Value for money and effective use of resources

How you ensure you are receiving good value for money.

Equal and respectful

How you ensure your customers are treated equally and with respect.

Effective and personalised

How you tailor services to meet customer’s individual needs and wants in a way that puts them in the driving seat.

Customer safety

How you keep your customers safe from abuse, whilst encouraging them to take sensible risks.

Two Optional Service Standards

In addition to the core standards – against which we test all service providers – there are currently two additional service standards.

These have been designed to complement the core standards and apply where an organisation provides accommodation based services and provides a programme for the use of volunteers. Organisations may choose to be further accredited by one or more of these service standards.


For organisations that provide services based around accommodation, where they have control over the buildings.


For organisations that promote independence through a planned approach to working with volunteers.

Build your own Accreditation

You can choose to focus your Accreditation on one service or you can include all the services you deliver.

You can add other services at any time without having to register again.

It’s your Accreditation use it to your best advantage!

Typical services currently registered for Service Excellence Standards includes:

  • Services for Older People
  • Independent Living Services
  • Abbeyfield Society
  • Homeless Service
  • Services for Young People including
  • YMCA

One Accreditation – Three Level’s

Achievement will be based around three incremental levels and will allow progression towards Outstanding provider:

  • Developing Provider
  • Good Provider
  • Outstanding Provider

Find out more about the Service Excellence Standards